Conference on College Composition and Communication Logo

CCCC Elections

Candidates Announced for 2018 Elections

Current CCCC members, with an email address on file, will receive their ballots by email. If you wish to change your preferred email or add an email address, please visit our website and update your record. Ballots will be sent at the end of May.

View Candidates Biographical Information

The CCCC Nominating Committee has named the following candidates for CCCC offices in the summer elections.

Assistant Chair (one to be elected; succeeding to posts of Associate Chair, Chair, and Immediate Past Chair for a four-year term to expire in December 2022):

Jonathan Alexander, University of California, Irvine
Julie Lindquist, Michigan State University, East Lansing

Executive Committee (seven to be elected; one from each pair of candidates; term to expire in December 2021):

Candace Epps-Robertson, Old Dominion University, Norfolk, Virginia
Marilee Brooks-Gillies, Indiana University-Purdue University, Indianapolis

Kelly Sassi, North Dakota State University, Fargo
Jennifer Sano-Franchini, Virginia Tech, Blacksburg

Cristyn L. Elder, University of New Mexico, Albuquerque
Michael Neal, Florida State University, Tallahassee

Trixie G. Smith, Michigan State University, East Lansing
Harry Denny, Purdue University, West Lafayette, Indiana

Sherry Rankins-Roberston, University of Arkansas at Little Rock
Heidi Estrem, Boise State University, Idaho

Timothy Oleksiak, University of Massachusetts, Boston
Chris Blankenship, Salt Lake Community College, Utah

Resa Crane Bizzaro, Indiana University of Pennsylvania
Shyam Sharma, Stony Brook University, New York

Nominating Committee (five to be elected; one from each pair of candidates; term to expire in December 2019):

Rachel Riedner, George Washington University, Washington, D.C.
Heidi Skurat Harris, University of Arkansas at Little Rock

Rebecca Lorimer Leonard, University of Massachusetts, Amherst
Lorie Stagg Jacobs, University of Houston, Clear Lake, Texas

Tyler Branson, University of Toledo, Ohio
James Chase Sanchez, Middlebury College, Vermont

Anne Canavan, Salt Lake Community College, Utah
Jeffrey Klausman, Whatcom Community College, Bellingham, Washington

Kaitlin Clinnin, University of Nevada, Las Vegas
Santos Ramos, Grand Valley State University, Allendale Michigan

Completed ballots should be postmarked, to NCTE Headquarters, by Wednesday, August 1, 2018. Elections will close at 11:59 p.m. Central Time.

Members of the 2017–18 CCCC Nominating Committee were Jennifer Wingard, University of Houston, Texas, Chair; Franny Howes, Oregon Institute of Technology, Klamath Falls; Andrea Malouf, Salt Lake Community College, Utah; Steve Parks, Syracuse University, New York; Andrea Riley Mukavetz, Grand Valley State University, Allendale, Michigan.

QuestionsPlease contact Linda Walters-Moore at NCTE Headquarters.


2018 Elections: Call for Nominations

The 2018 CCCC Nominating Committee invites nominations for the posts of CCCC Assistant ChairExecutive Committee member (seven members), and 2019 Nominating Committee (five members). The Nominating Committee seeks to identify CCCC members who are committed to the organization and willing to do its work. The post of Assistant Chair involves a four-year commitment, beginning in December 2018. During the first year of the term, the Assistant Chair also serves as Program Chair for the 2020 CCCC Convention. He or she becomes Associate Chair (December 2019), Chair (December 2020), and Immediate Past Chair (December 2021). Members of the Executive Committee are expected to make a three-year commitment to serving CCCC, beginning in December 2018. The Executive Committee meets for a full day immediately prior to the CCCC Annual Convention in the spring as well as for two days at the NCTE Annual Convention in the fall. Executive Committee and Nominating Committee members are chosen to represent a mix of institutions and regions. The officers and Executive Committee are committed to increased recruitment, representation, and participation of members of historically underrepresented groups in every aspect of the committee’s work as well as throughout its activities.

Please send nominations, with a resume, by February 20, 2018, via email to Members and previous candidates are encouraged to nominate themselves.


Word          PDF


2017 CCCC Election Results


Election Process

CCCC elects its leaders through a ballot mailed to the entire CCCC membership.  The CCCC Nominating Committee (click here for a listing of Nominating Committee members from 1994 to the present) is elected annually through this process and serves for one year.  The elected Nominating Committee members (as well as the Immediate and Senior Past Chairs of CCCC, who also serve on the nominating committee) select a slate of candidates from nominations, which may be made by any CCCC member.  This slate of candidates is contacted, their consent to run obtained, and an election held during the summer to determine who will replace the Assistant Chair (for a four-year term, ascending to Associate Chair, Chair, and Past Chair), the outgoing members of the CCCC Executive Committee, the CCCC Nominating Committee, and the CCCC Secretary (every four years).

Elected Offices

Click on a link below for specific information about each of the CCCC elected offices:

Assistant Chair (to serve through the CCCC Chairs' Rotation)

CCCC Executive Committee

CCCC Nominating Committee

CCCC Secretary


Document and Site Resources

Share This On:

Page Tools:

Related Search Terms

Join CCCC today!


Copyright © 1998-2018 National Council of Teachers of English. All rights reserved in all media.

1111 W. Kenyon Road, Urbana, Illinois 61801-1096 Phone: 217-328-3870 or 877-369-6283

Looking for information? Browse our FAQs, tour our sitemap and store sitemap, or contact NCTE

Read our Privacy Policy Statement and Links Policy. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use

Document URL

Document Owner

Organization Name

NCTE - The National Council of Teachers Of English

A Professional Association of Educators in English Studies, Literacy, and Language Arts