Conference on College Composition and Communication Logo

CCCC Chairs’ Memorial Scholarship

Application Deadline: October 10

Purpose: To remember and honor the Chairs of CCCC who have passed away, the CCCC Executive Committee has created scholarships of $750 each to help cover the costs of four graduate students who are presenting at the annual conference. We invite applications for the 2025 Convention in Baltimore, MD.

Eligibility: Full-time graduate students whose presentations were selected through the regular peer review process are eligible to apply.

Award Specifics: To apply, send the following documents as a single PDF attachment in the order indicated below:

  • A letter of application, no longer than one page, in which you introduce yourself (and verify that you’re a full-time graduate student) and articulate your plans for a career in composition studies.
  • A full copy of your accepted 2025 CCCC program proposal (NOT the acceptance letter), indicating which portion is yours.
  • A brief CV (not more than one page).

Applications are due by October 10, 2024, as a single PDF email attachment to

Recipients will be notified in December.

Other Considerations: In the event that the CCCC Annual Convention moves to an online-only event with no in-person component, recipients will receive a complimentary registration for the convention in lieu of any travel funds.

Email Questions

Chair’s Memorial Scholarship Winners



José Luis Cano Jr., Texas Christian University 

Madeline Crozier, University of Tennessee, Knoxville 

Jade Shiva Edward, University of Texas at Austin 

Meng-Hsien (Neal) Liu, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign


Priyanka Ganguly, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Jay McClintick, University of Arizona
Jessa Wood, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
Griffin Zimmerman, University of Arizona

Su Yin Khor, Pennsylvania State University, University Park 
Nkenna Onwuzuruoha, University of Utah, Salt Lake City 
Bibhushana Poudyal, University of Texas at El Paso 
Nisha Shanmugaraj, Carnegie Mellon University, Pittsburgh, PA 

Benesemon Simmons, Syracuse University, NY

Sweta Baniya, Purdue University
Ashok Bhusal, University of Texas, El Paso
Brandon Erby, Penn State University
Joanna E. Sanchez-Avila, University of Arizona

Lama Alharbi, Indiana University of Pennsylvania
Leslie R. Anglesey, University of Nevada, Reno
Erin Brock Carlson, Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN
Charissa Che, University of Utah, Salt Lake City

Vani Kannan, Syracuse University, NY
Temptaous T. Mckoy, East Carolina University, Greenville, NC
Vincent Portillo, Syracuse University, NY
Sherita V. Roundtree, The Ohio State University, Columbus

Sara P. Alvarez, University of Louisville, KY
Janine Butler, East Carolina University, Greenville, NC
Megan Faver Hartline, University of Louisville, KY
Brittany S. Hull, Indiana University of Pennsylvania

Dan Ehrenfeld, University of Massachusetts Amherst
Romeo García, Syracuse University, NY
Annika Konrad, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Lina Trigos-Carrillo, University of Missouri-Columbia

Rachel Bloom, University of Kansas, Lawrence
Heather Lindenman, University of Maryland, College Park
Shannon Madden, University of Oklahoma, Norman
Elisabeth L. Miller, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Elizabeth Ellis, University of Maryland, College Park
Jerry Won Lee, University of Arizona, Tucson
Travis L. Martin, University of Kentucky, Lexington
Shui-yin Sharon Yam, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Nancy Bou Ayash, University of Louisville, KY
Marcos J. Del Hierro, Texas A&M University, College Station
Kendra L. Mitchell, Florida State University, Tallahassee
Christie Toth, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor

Jessica Barros, St. John’s University, New York, NY
Benjamin Miller, CUNY Graduate Center, New York, NY
Vanessa Rouillon, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
Tanita Saenkhum, Arizona State University, Tempe

Erin R. Anderson, University of Pittsburgh, PA
Beth Godbee, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Rebecca Lorimer, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Ryan Trauman, University of Louisville, KY

Iris Deana Ruiz, University of California, San Diego
Jota Samper, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge
Kyle D. Stedman, University of South Florida, Tampa
Kara Taczak, Florida State University, Tallahassee

Tabetha Adkins, University of Louisville, KY
Michael Harker, The Ohio State University, Columbus
Susan Meyers, University of Arizona, Tucson
Ehren Pflugfelder, Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN

J. James Bono, University of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Rasha Diab, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Hyechong Park, Ohio State University, Columbus
Kate Vieira, University of Wisconsin, Madison

Celeste Del Russo, University of New Orleans
Spencer Salas, University of Georgia
Lee Shenandoah Vasquez, University of Oklahoma
Richard LeMoine Wright, University of Illinois at Chicago

Rachel Brooks-Pannell, Ohio University
Lisa Dush, University of Massachusetts Amherst
Melanie Kill, University of Washington
Iswari P. Pandey, University of Louisville

Renew Your Membership

Join CCCC today!
Learn more about the SWR book series.
Connect with CCCC
CCCC on Facebook
CCCC on LinkedIn
CCCC on Twitter
CCCC on Tumblr
OWI Principles Statement
Join the OWI discussion


Copyright © 1998 - 2024 National Council of Teachers of English. All rights reserved in all media.

1111 W. Kenyon Road, Urbana, Illinois 61801-1096 Phone: 217-328-3870 or 877-369-6283

Looking for information? Browse our FAQs, tour our sitemap and store sitemap, or contact NCTE

Read our Privacy Policy Statement and Links Policy. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use