Conference on College Composition and Communication Logo

Committee on Undergraduate Research


Committee Charge

Committee Members

Jessie Moore, Co-Chair
Michael Neal, Co-Chair
Dominic DelliCarpini
Abby Dubisar
Michelle Grue
Shurli Makmillen
John Pruitt
Michael Rifenburg
Sarah Singer

This committee is charged with the following:

Charge 1: Annually implement the UR Poster Session at CCCC convention and provide various forms of support for undergraduates attending the convention;

Charge 2: Regularly update the bibliography of UR resources and models to complement the CCCC Position Statement on Undergraduate Research;

Charge 3: Regularly study data regarding undergraduate research (i.e., analysis of program data) and, when appropriate, collect new data (i.e., membership survey, inquiry into uses of the UR Position Statement);

Charge 4: Continue ongoing coordination with broader UR community and with audiences within rhetoric and composition/writing studies, including the Council on Undergraduate Research, the National Writing Project, Rhetoric Society of America, National Communication Association, IWCA, CWPA, AAC&U, and any other relevant organizations.March 2018 Update


The Committee on Undergraduate Research is charged with fostering the culture of undergraduate research (UR) in writing on behalf of NCTE/CCCC. Established in 2011, this Special Committee operates from the idea that UR benefits not only the students and teachers who work together in different forms of collaborative inquiry but also the programs and departments, institutions, and disciplines that support undergraduate writing researchers, their mentors, and their work. The CCCC Position Statement on Undergraduate Research in Writing Studies and Bibliography further articulates these ideas. The committee also sponsors activities and initiatives affiliated with the CCCC annual convention, including regular data collection and active support for the CCCC Undergraduate Research Poster Session.

Renew Your Membership

Join CCCC today!
Learn more about the SWR book series.
Connect with CCCC
CCCC on Facebook
CCCC on LinkedIn
CCCC on Twitter
CCCC on Tumblr
OWI Principles Statement
Join the OWI discussion


Copyright © 1998 - 2023 National Council of Teachers of English. All rights reserved in all media.

1111 W. Kenyon Road, Urbana, Illinois 61801-1096 Phone: 217-328-3870 or 877-369-6283

Looking for information? Browse our FAQs, tour our sitemap and store sitemap, or contact NCTE

Read our Privacy Policy Statement and Links Policy. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use