Conference on College Composition and Communication Logo

Research Committee

Committee Members

Tiane Donahue, Chair
Elías Domínguez Barajas
Bradley Dilger
Dylan Dryer
Russel Durst
Jeff Grabill
Rebecca Rickly
Wendy Sharer
Pat Sullivan
Kate Vieira
Elizabeth Wardle
Shevaun Watson

Committee Charge

This committee is charged to:

  1. To coordinate and undertake the initial review of CCCC Research Initiative grants, including “regular” grants and any additional grants instituted by the EC, and to provide ranked recommendations and summaries of each grant to the CCCC Officers in time for the January Officers’ retreat;
  2. Based on experience of that review, to offer advice on the design, planning, publicizing, submission guidelines, and support materials associated with research grant submission and review;
  3. To work with the Officers and EC to develop and implement additional programming or support research grant recipients;
  4. To recommend to the Officers and EC and/or undertake specific projects intended to foster a culture of research within CCCC and to disseminate research beyond CCCC members, e.g. in public venues; and
  5. To recommend to the Officers and EC and/or undertake specific projects intended to foster research that represents underrepresented voices and subjects among CCCC members.
  • We have worked to support new generations of scholars in engaging in strong research, particularly work involving empirical/primary data; we hope members will engage in ongoing conversations about what research is and does for the field and for our teaching. We work to help the profession see the importance of public-facing work which can speak to multiple audiences and stakeholders beyond the academy. This is the work of translating disciplinary research findings for general readers.
  • We encourage the membership to apply for CCCC Research Initiative grant funding.
  • We would like the membership to know in particular about the CCCC Emergent Researcher Awards.

Renew Your Membership

Join CCCC today!
Learn more about the SWR book series.
Connect with CCCC
CCCC on Facebook
CCCC on LinkedIn
CCCC on Twitter
CCCC on Tumblr
OWI Principles Statement
Join the OWI discussion


Copyright © 1998 - 2022 National Council of Teachers of English. All rights reserved in all media.

1111 W. Kenyon Road, Urbana, Illinois 61801-1096 Phone: 217-328-3870 or 877-369-6283

Looking for information? Browse our FAQs, tour our sitemap and store sitemap, or contact NCTE

Read our Privacy Policy Statement and Links Policy. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use