Conference on College Composition and Communication Logo

CCCC Tribal College Faculty Fellowship

Application Deadline: November 15

Purpose: The Tribal College Faculty Fellowship offers financial aid to selected faculty members currently working at tribally controlled colleges or at Native American-Serving Nontribal Institutions (NASNTI’s) to attend the Conference on College Composition and Communication (CCCC) April 9–12, 2025, in Baltimore, MD. We are offering two Tribal College Faculty Fellowships in the amount of $1,500 each.

Featuring over 500 sessions focusing on teaching practices, writing and literacy programs, language research, history, theory, information technologies, and professional and technical communication, the annual CCCC meeting provides a forum for thinking, learning, networking, and presenting research on the teaching and learning of writing.

With this Fellowship, CCCC hopes to create new opportunities for Tribal College Faculty members and faculty at Native American-Serving Nontribal Institutions to become involved in CCCC and for CCCC to carry out its mission of serving as a truly representative national advocate for language and literacy education.

Eligibility: Open to faculty members currently working at tribally controlled colleges or Native American-Serving Nontribal Institutions. You do not need to present at the CCCC Convention in order to qualify for this award.

Award Specifics: The deadline for the 2025 award is November 15, 2024. Please submit an application letter (on institutional letterhead) describing:

  • Who you are as a teacher and what you teach at your tribal college or Native American-Serving Nontribal Institution
  • What your research interests are
  • What you hope to gain from the experience of attending CCCC (how it could help you in your teaching or research)

Send your application letter to

Award Criteria: A selection committee including American Indian Caucus members will review applications for the Tribal College Faculty Fellowship. Fellowship awards will be based on overall quality of the application letter.

Other Considerations: In the event that the CCCC Annual Convention moves to an online-only event with no in-person component, recipients will receive a complimentary registration for the convention in lieu of any travel funds.

For More Information…
Visit the CCCC Convention website, or contact the CCCC Liaison at

Tribal College Faculty Fellows

Meredith Marchioni, Alaska Pacific University, Anchorage

Heather Flute, Sisseton Wahpeton College, SD
Nicholas Martin, Oglala Lakota College, SD

Not awarded.

Not awarded.

Margaret Abbott, Fort Peck Community College, Poplar, MT
Ryan Winn, College of Menominee Nation, Keshena, Wisconsin

Rebecca Frost, Keweenaw Bay Ojibwa Community College, Baraga, MI
Nina Knight, Saginaw Chippewa Tribal College, Mt Pleasant, MI

Teresa Gomez, Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute, Albuquerque, NM
Casandra Lopez, Northwest Indian College, Bellingham, WA

LaFrenda Frank, Diné College, Tsaile, AZ

Nina Knight, Saginaw Chippewa Tribal College
Bond Love, Haskell Indian Nations University

Norma Marshall, College of the Muscogee Nation, Okmulgee, OK

Sarah Prielipp, Saginaw Chippewa Tribal College, Mount Pleasant, Michigan
Christopher L. Stockdale, Little Priest Tribal College, Winnebago, Nebraska

Ahmed Al-Asfour, Oglala Lakota College, Kyle, South Dakota
Jon Kohn, Little Big Horn College, Crow Agency, Montana

Kate Bertin, Chief Dull Knife College, Lame Deer, Montana
Jeanne Sokolowski, White Earth Tribal and Community College, Mahnomen, Minnesota

Eric Jurgens, College of Menominee Nation, Keshena, Wisconsin

Christie Cooke, Haskell Indian Nations University, Lawrence, Kansas
Jennifer Ann Owens, Little Big Horn College, Crow Agency, Montana

Sara Knight, College of Menominee Nation, Keshena, Wisconsin
Ryan Winn, College of Menominee Nation, Keshena, Wisconsin

Nathan Jenkins, Haskell Indian Nations University

Geselle Coe, Tohono O’Odham Community College

Ron Carpenter, Turtle Mountain Community College
Brian Tosky, College of Menominee Nation

Priscilla A. Fairbanks, Leech Lake Tribal College
Steven King, Sisseton-Wahpeton College
Laurie Koepplin, Little Big Horn College
Patrick J. Shields, Lac Courte Oreilles Ojibwa Community College

Renew Your Membership

Join CCCC today!
Learn more about the SWR book series.
Connect with CCCC
CCCC on Facebook
CCCC on LinkedIn
CCCC on Twitter
CCCC on Tumblr
OWI Principles Statement
Join the OWI discussion


Copyright © 1998 - 2024 National Council of Teachers of English. All rights reserved in all media.

1111 W. Kenyon Road, Urbana, Illinois 61801-1096 Phone: 217-328-3870 or 877-369-6283

Looking for information? Browse our FAQs, tour our sitemap and store sitemap, or contact NCTE

Read our Privacy Policy Statement and Links Policy. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use