Conference on College Composition and Communication Logo

CCCC Disability in College Composition Travel Awards


Purpose: CCCC presents six awards designed to support scholarship dedicated to improving knowledge about the intersections of disability with composition and rhetoric, the value of disability as a source of diversity, inclusive practices and the promotion of access, and the value of disability as a critical lens. These awards encourage new scholars who investigate issues relating to disability and to the field of composition and rhetoric to present their work at the conference; we hope to recognize the efforts of individuals dedicated to improving the experiences of people with disabilities in the field; and we believe it is important to support scholars with disabilities to travel to share their work.

Eligibility: CCCC offers up to three travel awards for graduate students and three travel awards for faculty and staff members. The awards are to be used for travel assistance, based on review of accepted CCCC Annual Convention program proposals. The awards will go to the eligible scholars whose convention program proposals are determined to have the greatest potential to further the goals laid out in the CCCC Policy on Disability.

Award Specifics: Self-nominations are invited. Self-nominees must submit a copy of their accepted CCCC convention program proposal and are invited to add an additional 500 words of justification in support of their self-nomination. To nominate an individual, nominators are invited to write up to 500 words of justification in support of the nominee; the nominee will then be asked to provide a copy of their accepted CCCC convention program proposal. Both self-nominations and nominations must include the full contact details of the nominee. Nominations should directly address the nominee's efforts to further the previously mentioned goals laid out in the CCCC Policy on Disability. Nominations are due by November 13, 2017, and should be emailed as a single PDF attachment to

Clear preference will be given to first-time conference attendees and/or untenured faculty.

Determinations will be made by the first week in January

The travel awards will be in the amount of $750. In addition, CCCC will give a one-year membership in NCTE and CCCC to these award winners. Award recipients will receive their award at a reception during the annual convention, and will have these awards officially recognized in publications and announcements.

Disability in College Composition Travel Awards Winners

Ellen Birdwell, Alvin Community College, TX
Janine Butler, East Carolina University, Greenville, NC
Rachel Donegan, Middle Tennessee State University, Murfreesboro
Hailee Yoshizaki Gibbons, University of Illinois at Chicago
Denise Y. Hill, Arizona State University, Tempe
Margaret Anne Moore, Fairfield University, CT

Amanda Athon, Governors State University
Dev Bose, University of Arizona
Heather Lang, Florida State University
Andrew Lucchesi, The Graduate Center, CUNY
Lauren Terbrock, University of Missouri-St. Louis
Melanie Yergeau, University of Michigan-Ann Arbor

Elisabeth Hassler, Humboldt State University
Allison H. Hitt, Syracuse University
Laura Kolaczkowski, University of Dayton
Katharine G. Monger, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
Lauren Obermark, University of Missouri-St. Louis
Tara K. Wood, Rockford University

Document and Site Resources

Share This On:

Page Tools:

Related Search Terms

Learn more about the CCCC Convention!


Copyright © 1998-2017 National Council of Teachers of English. All rights reserved in all media.

1111 W. Kenyon Road, Urbana, Illinois 61801-1096 Phone: 217-328-3870 or 877-369-6283

Looking for information? Browse our FAQs, tour our sitemap and store sitemap, or contact NCTE

Read our Privacy Policy Statement and Links Policy. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use

Document URL

Document Owner

Organization Name

NCTE - The National Council of Teachers Of English

A Professional Association of Educators in English Studies, Literacy, and Language Arts