Conference on College Composition and Communication Logo

Committee on the Status of Women in the Profession (March 2016) - Previous Revision

April 2008 Update

The CSWP would like to acknowledge the hard work of our former Chair Heather Bruce from the University of Montana.  Heather served as Chair of the Committee for nine years and has been a constant guiding presence and advocate for women in the profession.  The CSWP has been reconstituted and in the process of reformulating its agenda items.

Committee Members

Eileen Schell, Chair
Kristin Bivens
Heather Bruce
Kirsti Cole
Vi Dutcher
Morgan Gresham
Jordynn Jack 
Jody Millward
Gwen Pough
Stephen Ruffus

Committee Charge

This committee is charged with the following:

  1. To review the history of CCCC, with respect to its activities on behalf of women, for purposes of historical recording: what activities were undertaken, and what did they contribute to the CCCC and to its women members?
  2. To share the historical record in appropriate venues.
  3. To identify feminist concerns and continuing woman-gender specific concerns that should be brought to the attention of the members for reasons of scholarship and/or action; to recommend appropriate actions to the officers and the EC.

Document and Site Resources

Share This On:

Page Tools:

Related Search Terms


Copyright © 1998-2017 National Council of Teachers of English. All rights reserved in all media.

1111 W. Kenyon Road, Urbana, Illinois 61801-1096 Phone: 217-328-3870 or 877-369-6283

Looking for information? Browse our FAQs, tour our sitemap and store sitemap, or contact NCTE

Read our Privacy Policy Statement and Links Policy. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use

Document Owner

Organization Name

NCTE - The National Council of Teachers Of English

A Professional Association of Educators in English Studies, Literacy, and Language Arts